Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

A Day for Me May 13, 2013

Mother’s Day was lots of fun this year. My oldest daughter, Amara, had a good understanding of what the day meant (thanks to my teachings and what she learned on the Sprout channel) and went to great lengths to make it special for me. She was very well behaved that day, let me pick all of the games and things we’d do, and even volunteered to get her curls combed out without whining. AMAZING!

Mother's Day Bouquet

Mother’s Day Bouquet

It was a nice day. I did clean the kitchen and bathe the girls and wash a few loads of laundry, but I knew I couldn’t take the day off completely. We’d already planned to go the the Museum of Science in Boston today, so doing a few chores on Mother’s Day was necessary.

It was off and on rainy on Mother’s Day. In the morning, I let the girls jump in puddles before their bath. They had a blast! I didn’t get to go hiking like I’d wanted to, but we went outside awhile to search for inchworms. We found about 30 in as many minutes!

We mostly stayed inside though, eating homemade popcorn, playing board games, dancing to rock and roll and saying “I Love You” a lot. In Boston, my classmates were walking the stage for graduation, but I’d take dancing in the living room with my daughters to La Bamba any day. It was grand 🙂Blog5.1

I tried not to think about him too much. It’s tough, but I did alright. I think it’s harder to push the thoughts away because it’s so close to The Big Incident’s anniversary (and another hearing for his felony charges, and another few hearings for our divorce), but I didn’t let it ruin my celebration.

Mother’s Day isn’t about flowers and candy and gifts from a husband; it’s a day to reflect on how much I love being a mother, a day to do something special with my kids. Mother’s Day recharges my ability to enjoy this craziness for another year.

We had fun at the Museum of Science today too. It had been awhile since our last visit, but we’ll go again soon.

Blog5.2

Blog5.4Blog5.5

 

6 Responses to “A Day for Me”

  1. Julia Jasmine Sta Romana Says:

    Glad you had a great mother’s day! It looks like you and your daughters had a wonderful time. My family and I spent the afternoon at my mom’s house and just napped and chatted the day away. It was nothing fancy but still good because we spent the day together and it was fun.

  2. What a great day!!! Thanks for sharing your fun and joy.
    Jenness

  3. Still Scared( but getting angry) Says:

    I love letting my kids puddle jump, that and standing out in the pouring rain…even in their teens they enjoy this! 🙂

    • Jet Says:

      Isn’t it exhilarating? Such a simple, yet powerful release 🙂 I love rain, especially when the droplets are warm! I remember my first day of college; my roommates and I bonded by walking across campus puddle jumping, lol. It never gets old!


Leave a Reply

