Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Incredibly Close April 26, 2013

I’m proud of myself. I’ve managed to stay in graduate school throughout this ordeal and I am almost finished. I will have my Master’s degree in Publishing and Writing this summer. Getting my MA from Emerson College has been a dream of mine for quite some time, and within a few months I will have accomplished my goal.Goals

Moving to the Boston area was difficult enough. I knew around 2006, when I graduated with my BA in English, that I wanted to attend Emerson. Five years, two children, and a wicked roller-coaster of co-dependency and manipulation later I finally made it to my first semester as an Emerson student. It was magnificent. I was meeting people in the industry, I was learning the history, I was witnessing and mastering the revolutionary technology affecting publishing. As the president of an organization I hosted events and ran meetings, I attended readings and collaborated on projects with my talented classmates. Graduate school was everything I’d hoped it would be.

Then…The Big Incident changed everything. It’s not as though my marriage had been peaches and cream before that night. No. Far from it. But after that night, after his arrest, after the restraining order, it has been a different type of hard. Finding a way to pay for things, staying healthy during the pregnancy, dealing with the insomnia and the court cases and the uncertainty, dealing with the loneliness, the embarrassment, and the grief. Finding support and regaining my strength. Working constantly to become a better mother, and doing my best to help my babies transition smoothly.

Igoals2t has been very difficult, but very rewarding. So when I look at the mountain of coursework in front of me, as it is finals week…and as I look at the massive amount of assignments I still have yet to complete before I graduate…I try to think back on everything that I’ve already accomplished. I look back and remember how incredibly impossible it all seemed. Then I cannot help but to feel proud of me, because I’ve already done such amazing things, and I know that I will get through these next two courses because I am too close to finishing to stop fighting.

 

11 Responses to “Incredibly Close”

  1. Julia Jasmine Sta Romana Says:

    Congratulations Jet! That’s awesome!

  2. Change My Body...Change My Life Says:

    If energy and strength can be sent, I am sending it. I will keep you and your family in my thoughts.

  3. kp Says:

    Halleluah!! (I don’t know if I spelled that right.) Good for you for claiming your victories to date! I have no doubt that you will finish your masters either and am so happy that you can feel the pride that you should about how much you have accomplished!! We are rooting for you!!!

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I was feeling overwhelmed and got to really thinking about it and I couldn’t be depressed anymore. I really have come so far. I sincerely appreciate your support ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Helen Muccitelli Says:

    Exactly!

  5. Thumbs up, well done! Maybe you can put all in the same plate and write in your blog about your finals… or write in your finals what you writ ein your blog… ok, you get the gist of it right, LOL,
    About being a single Mom, maybe you’ll find this interesting.. http://www.singlemom.com/not-single-mom-but-double-parent/ LOL the first / nearly only comment came from a man… Oh my, even writing for a woman’s mag, I would have needed to keep men in mind, argh!! Good luck with the few last steps, you are nearly there, yes, be proud!!! โค

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you for linking me to your article and the Single Mom website ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, there certainly are some stand-up single fathers out there, but I understand the difficulty in not overgeneralizing (your editor should have caught that, lol).

      Thanks for the well wishes for finishing up my degree!

  6. LOL, well, it was for a website called “single Mom” LOL


Leave a Reply

