Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Nothing Went As Planned Today April 15, 2013

Thankfully, we hadn’t planned to attend the Boston Marathon. My heart goes out to everyone affected.

I’d planned to do my homework. I’m nearly one week behind on turning in my assignments. I’m trying to keep from being stressed out about it, but there are only two weeks before the end of the semester and I’m not ready to do my final project, nor am I ready to dive into my next (my last) two courses.

PlanningI’d planned to wake up and get to reading my lessons. I wound up waking up and getting some laundry started, made breakfast and straightened my kitchen, then contacted my lawyer, led the girls through their learning assignments, took the girls on a walk past a pond (where we saw seven sunbathing turtles) to a playground (where I learned that pushing them on the swings while wearing two pound wrist weights is a great arm workout), and then back home where we played Candy Land and Barbies after lunch, then I cleaned the condo some more and had Mommy and Me time with each of them before dinner and Bedtime Business.

Things didn’t go as I’d planned for them to go today. Around lunch time though, I gave up on getting any homework done before the girls went to bed, and although I was disappointed it became easier to accept. I admitted to myself that what I’d wanted wouldn’t be happening, and slowly but surely I felt the tug of self-defeat loosening. Every activity then became a valued experience instead of another nuisance task keeping me from my studies.

Sometimes things just don’t turn out the way I hope, but the more flexible I become in dealing with whatever I’m thrown without freaking out the more capable I feel about controlling the only thing I really have the power to control, myself. I truly believe in leading by example, and I want my daughters to know me as the mother I’ve always wanted to be. Lately I’ve been making a lot of progress, and although nothing went as planned today, I am pleased.

 

14 Responses to “Nothing Went As Planned Today”

  1. another mother Says:

    Way to go!

  2. kp Says:

    Wow…good for you! I struggle with this often. Kim

  3. anewfreelife Says:

    Good for you! Woot! You’re doing it!

    Hey, off subject…..could you use any more cloth diapers? I believe I have some out in the storage shed. There probably aren’t a lot, but I know when I was diapering everything helped. If you’d like them, let me know and I’ll dig ’em out. πŸ™‚

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I’m certainly trying πŸ˜‰

      I sincerely appreciate your offer to dig out your cloth diapers for me, but I honestly have a really large supply. I started off with a decent amount and just recently I was given bundles more of them by two of my friends πŸ˜‰

      Thank you so much for asking though!!!

      • anewfreelife Says:

        Oh, you are welcome. I bought a bunch of Swaddlebees with my last two babies who are now 4 and 6. They are such an investment! So, I saved them, thinking my older kids could use them. None of my kids even want to use cloth diapers! (I feel like such a failure in that department!) My pregnant daughter just finally told me that she is absolutely not doing cloth. She plans to go back to work and so will use disposable. :/ So, I thought there is no sense in me hanging on to them. I couldn’t think of anyone else I’d rather give them to than you! I will just pass them along to some home school girls who grew up with my oldest son. They both are doing cloth. Yay! πŸ˜€ Hugs!!!

      • Jet Says:

        I’m so glad that you’ll have someone to pass them on to and also glad that you first thought of me! You’re so sweet πŸ™‚ I feel the same way about cloth diapers being an investment. I was just thinking that after Nohra gets bigger I will have to find someone to pass mine on to because with all of the generosity I’ve received I couldn’t possibly sell them.

        Awww, your kids won’t do cloth?! I have decided against doing cloth on long outings. I did it with my other two, but it’s just too much for me right now. I’m trying not to feel guilty about it, lol.

      • anewfreelife Says:

        Oh, no, don’t feel guilty! Different seasons and different circumstances call for different ways of doing things. I went about 50/50 with my middle three because I worked such long hours. It just isn’t always possible. I COMMEND you for still trying so faithfully with ALL you have going on! πŸ™‚

      • Jet Says:

        Thank you ❀

  4. Howdy! You are doing so much with your girls, impressive! I have been a teacher for donkey’s years, but I sometimes find I am not doing enough with my son. Your post actually enlightened me.
    I am practically always at home, work from home a couple of days per week, never go out except together with him. I think it is because he is a boy and I am .. well, a girl. So he likes to play car races and basket ball, nerf guns etc… I sometimes think that if I had a girl, I would play doll for hours. But shooting each other around the house… this is a toughy for me. I went to WWE matches and made fire in the woods to grill marshmallows… this is probably as far as I can go… LOL
    About your homework, I don’t know if you are an early bird, but when I have assignments due, I make sure I go to bed early, I get up at 3am, and back to bed around 5:30 for a half hour or so. It works for me (except if I go to bed too late!). xxx

    • Jet Says:

      You’re so sweet πŸ™‚ Thank you! I really enjoy playing with my girls, even when they make me pretend to be the boy characters, lol. I think that your willingness to go to WWE matches and grill marshmallows is awesome πŸ˜‰ I just try to keep in mind that if they see me being confident (even if I’m pretending) they’ll be encouraged to be confident too.

      I used to wake up early to do my schoolwork (during the pregnancy), but since Nohra’s birth I haven’t made a huge effort. Nohra stays awake until sometimes 2am and then I’m so tired I cannot force myself to get up early. I’ve been so insanely tired lately, like I’m making up for my insomnia throughout the pregnancy, and I want to sleep until at least 7am (when my big girls typically wake up). Ugh.

      Maybe in a another month or so, when Nohra’s sleeping pattern is a bit more predictable, I can get back on my schedule. ❀

      • Oh, yes, you have a small baby! So forget about my piece of advise, and get some sleep πŸ˜‰ There are priorities in life and one cannot always be everywhere, Mum, Dad, sister, lawyer, doctor… oh my! Keep smiling, at least, this one is always available, and so rewarding, I’m sure (I know!) you know that.

      • Jet Says:

        Thank you! I’ll try that…smiling really does lift my mood πŸ™‚ It’s nice to have a baby around these days; she can light up the room!


Leave a Reply

