Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

What a Wonderful Week April 12, 2013

Filed under: Cherished Childhoods,Mama Moments,Positive Parenting — Jet @ 11:59 pm

We have been so incredibly busy, but things have been wonderful. In addition to the positive changes I made a few weeks ago regarding my parenting I’ve now incorporated “Mommy and Me Time” into our schedule. This is a small amount of time when I devote my attention to each child individually. While they are having Mommy and Me Time it is their decision what we do, and even though I’ve only been able to give them small amounts of time (5-10 minutes) each session they wholeheartedly enjoy it, look forward to doing again the next day, and are noticeably more cooperative afterwards.

I finally finished and submitted both my Master’s Project prospectus and my last Directed Study proposal. So long as nothing goes wrong with the registration process I will be officially enrolled in my last two graduate courses next week πŸ™‚ This has been so insanely difficult to balance, but I am so close!

I actually got a teensy bit of a workout in this week. While the girls were playing at Imajin That I did arm circles and calf lifts. The next day I wore ankle and wrist weights while cleaning the house. I figure that I cannot keep holding out to make exercise this huge new routine. I’m just going to have to incorporate little bits of exercising into my daily activities.

Tonight we attended a Fairy Tale Ball. The girls had been looking forward to it all week and we had a blast! I actually got close to maxing out the memory on my phone, I was taking so many pictures. Here are my faves from this week πŸ™‚

20130408_153715

Amara held Nohra while Terra talked to her.

20130409_141747

In the Bounce House at Imajin That

20130409_142555

The Obstacle Playspace at Imajin That

20130409_154344

Terra dressing up as a waitress trying to use a megaphone

20130409_162356

Terra helping Amara to put on her cape

20130409_205820

Amara lost her second front tooth!

20130412_192203

Terra asked for a Princess

20130412_181034

Right before the Fairy Tale Ball

20130412_192251

Amara asked for a butterfly

20130412_200144

Amara, Me holding Nohra, and Terra

 

10 Responses to “What a Wonderful Week”

  1. anewfreelife Says:

    What a gorgeous group of ladies the four of you are!!! Oh, that looks and sounds like so much fun! So glad for you all. You certainly deserve those kinds of moments, days, weeks……..and life!

    I need to take the queue from you and just incorporate exercise into normal activities of daily living. Otherwise, it just isn’t going to happen for me either. And, I love the Mommy and Me time of just 5-10 minutes. Again, I keep thinking about some grand lunch date or evening out, but that is never going to happen. Ten minutes of undivided attention I could do though. Great ideas!

    ❀

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I certainly wish exercising could begin my sacred morning routine, followed up by my daily cup of organic green tea, but…life isn’t perfect…yet πŸ˜‰ Doing Mommy and Me time for 5-10 minutes was actually my therapist’s idea. I love it though! They don’t feel cheated (like I thought they would) to not have an entire day or even an hour with me to themselves, just knowing that they have me to themselves at all is good and well πŸ˜‰ Today I was cleaning like a mad woman and I couldn’t find the time to give them Mommy and Me time separately, so we played Chutes and Ladders together instead. They were still happy to have me doing something special with them though πŸ™‚ Later in the day we got to take a short walk and that was nice too. I kept thinking that they’d need a huge amount of time outdoors to make them happy, but now I start the oven for dinner and set the timer for us to be back in the house and everyone’s pleased. I could use more weeks like these (sans assignments, lol)

  2. Combat Babe Says:

    Congrats on your new addition!! What a cutie. πŸ˜€

  3. Wow! You and your kids really had a wonderful week! You know, it is almost scary how much you and your children look like me and my children when they were that age. I only had two girls. I’m going to get out some pictures this week and post or send for you to see. Congratulations on your coursework — I’m sure it will work out just great!

    • Jet Says:

      I would absolutely love to see pictures of you and your girls! It’s funny that we resemble you all so well πŸ™‚ I’m so anxious (okay…not THAT anxious, lol) to see what my girls will look like as they mature. Did yours
      change much? Thank you for the congratulations!

  4. kp Says:

    What a great post. You sound like you are juggling SO much but doing it really well!! The “mommy and me” time sounds like a great idea for everyone. And, I love the idea of wearing weights around the house. I think you are right that, with everything you have going on, it is going to be very hard to find time for “exercise” alone. I am so happy to hear that you finding ways to bring a little balance into your very busy life. Kim
    p.s. what a beautiful family!!!

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you, Kim!

      Yes, I love that I have the weights to wear around the house. They’re just what I need. For some strange reason once I have them on I find ways to incorporate exercise into everything I’m doing. While walking to the kitchen I raise my knees, and I exaggerate my arm motions while folding laundry. I know that those little things aren’t going to give me my pre-3-babies body back, but it’s motivating to know that I’m at least trying to do something!

      You’re so right; I absolutely LOVE Mommy and Me time as much as if not more than the girls. It’s so much fun to enjoy them individually πŸ™‚

  5. You guys look great. Fantastic that you think about exercising. I have put on so much weight, I did not even realise. This is because I have never had to worry abotu weight before my divorce, now, I just keep getting fatter. Soneone gave me an indoor bike. I put on a TV series and cylcle, otherwise, it would be way too boring. I don’t see this paying of though… not yet.
    Well done for you!! You four look amazing, what a lovely family!

    • Jet Says:

      Awww, thank you! I should think about exercising even more, but…it’s hard! You understand πŸ™‚

      I just know that I need to make it a habit because I allowed myself to go from one child to the third without exercising properly and I used to really enjoy being fit. It’s such a boost in confidence knowing you’re physically powerful. I miss that.

      I think you’re right on track to bike and watch television. I try to make difficult things more enjoyable that way too, lol. I listen to books on tape or watch TV while doing chores when possible πŸ™‚ Good luck getting in shape!

      Thanks again πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

