Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Yes, and… April 8, 2013

Things have been going well lately between the girls and I. I’ve continued to make ample time to play with them throughout the day and everyone has been in good spirits. We’ve been making speaking nicely to one another a top priority, and we’re remembering to give apologies when necessary. Though I’ve been busy with my Master’s project proposal (on top of my normal coursework, and my attempts to keep up on the chores) I’ve managed to get the girls outdoors to play for a least 45 minutes each day for the past four days. I’m proud of myself!

The nice weather has been good for all of us and although I’m not cleaning each room of the condo every day and I’m a little behind my homework, I am happier. Today was a difficult day though, we had about five places to get to on our schedule and typically making it to one is a feat. I knew that I’d have to be patient and possibly settle for not getting everything done. But even before we left the house my big girls were bickering as they played. I kept hearing, “Noooooooo!” Then would come an explanation of what the person wanted. Sometimes even before the person was finished explaining I’d hear another, “Nooooo!” and a different explanation would be given by the other sister.

http://improv.com/index.cfmI usually try to only step in if one of the girls is overpowering  the other. I try to make sure they’re using their manners and then stay out of the way, but I was incredibly overwhelmed with their arguing. I introduced them to a method I learned in college, back when I had the pleasure of performing in an Improv troupe. The game is called “Yes, and…” and the basic premise is to agree with and add on to whatever it is that your teammates say or suggest. You cannot say “no” and you are forced to build off of one another’s ideas instead of shooting them down.

We played the game together for a little while because neither of them seemed eager to play without my participation, but after a few strings of silly suggestions they giggled incessantly while awaiting their next turn to add something to our game. The game came in quite handy when we were in the dressing room at Old Navy, and at bedtime my oldest said, “Yes, and is awesome!” with so much enthusiasm I felt like the coolest mom in the world 🙂

So although we trudged through our schedule today, and Nohra nursed constantly (of course, the day I go for groceries is the one day she doesn’t sleep for more than five minutes at a time until after 11pm, and of course I chose to leave the baby carrier at home), I taught my girls a new game that is easy to play without a smartphone or any other device. They only need their willingness to accept another person’s suggestions and their own imaginations. It was wonderful to see them having fun playing such a simple game, and it was such a relief to not hear anyone screaming, “Noooooooo!” Nope. Just the sweet sounds of, “Yes, and…’

Oh! And we made it to every place on our schedule 🙂

 

8 Responses to “Yes, and…”

  1. Change My Body...Change My Life Says:

    I am truly in awe of you.

  2. Some days, the magic works. Well done! How inspirational!

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! We had so much fun 🙂 Now we play “Yes, and…” almost everywhere we go! Worked wonders in the ER the other night, lol.

      • I admire your strength. Your girls have a wonderful Mom. You should get one of these plates “SuperMom” to put on your car dashboard. It feels great to be reminded now and then, My son bought one for me 2 years ago and I love to look at it 😉

      • Jet Says:

        That’s so adorable! I look forward to the days when my daughters make/buy me presents without my assistance, lol. I do need to remind myself that I’m awesome every now and again though, lol. I may start writing affirmations on my mirror…I keep saying I’m going to…I’m going to…right now! ❤ Thank you 🙂

  3. Yep, right now, pat yourself on the back! You are admirable! ❤

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I wrote “You are beautiful, strong, intelligent, amazing, and a magnificent mother. Smile, be proud of yourself, and enjoy life!” on my bathroom mirror 😉 My daughters think it’s cool too, lol.


Leave a Reply

