Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Lowering My Expectations April 1, 2013

PerfectionismI’m a bit of a perfectionist.

All my life I’ve attempted to make the most of this trait by disallowing myself to settle for less than the best from my efforts. I set high goals for myself and I achieve them. If I don’t achieve them I am NOT my best friend. I do not like having to admit even the slightest failures, but I’m honest to a fault so I cannot trick myself into believing that I’ve done well when I haven’t done as wonderfully as I wanted to. This can be a great self-motivating technique, but it also has the potential to chip away at my self-esteem.

Lately I’ve been trying very hard to lower my expectations. It’s not that I don’t want to achieve great things. Don’t get me wrong, I will own a mega yacht someday πŸ™‚ It’s just that I don’t like making myself feel bad all the time. It’s not intentional, but it’s usually the result of not measuring up to my own semi-delusional standards that get me depressed and make it even more difficult to tackle the obstacles ahead.

I cannot take full credit for my choice to go easy on myself. Credit goes to the combined counsel of people commenting on this blog, my children’s play therapist, my midwife, women in my support group, my therapist, Supernannyand Supernanny (yes, Jo, the British Supernanny…I’ll elaborate later) who have led me to this realization.

Lowering my expectations doesn’t mean that I don’t still expect the best from myself, it’s just that I don’t expect so much from myself constantly. Does that make sense? Take yesterday; after two days of madness from Terra’s fourth birthday and Easter, the house was a disaster. I was feeling overwhelmed by all the cleaning that I needed to do and really wanted to have a clean house, but instead of my typical work-like-a-slave-and-get-it-done-no-matter-what mentality, I decided to be realistic and kind to myself.

I committed myself to cleaning one room, washing and drying one load of laundry, and spending ample time playing with my children. Surprisingly enough, even on barely any sleep, I worked on the goals I set for myself, had a great time enjoying my children (who were much better behaved yesterday – some significant changes in my parenting can take the credit for that), and although I was busy it was much more relaxing. ExpectationsI didn’t clean the entire house, but when I went to bed I felt accomplished.

It was so much better than going to sleep feeling like a failure for not completing an impossible amount of chores (and I’d have probably spent a good portion of the day annoyed with anyone who interrupted my mission).

Most of the people I mentioned before helped me to realize that I am only human, that the load I’m carrying is quite heavy, and that I have to try to take things one step at a time to both not get overwhelmed and to stay positive about not being able to do as much as I’d like to be able to do everyday. I cannot thank everyone enough for helping me to be okay with not driving myself crazy; working working working to finish every task on my list by the end of each day. One of my biggest goals though, one that is always on my list, is being the best mother I can be, and in so many ways being a perfectionist was hindering my mothering.

Supernanny came to call and helped me along with my parenting. I’d never actually seen the show until last week, but as I folded seemingly endless loads of laundry until 2am I watched several episodes and learned various techniques that I could apply to my parenting. They were all fairly simple techniques, and a lot of them I’d already used before, but being reminded of them helped me.

They called themselves the "Super Long-tailed Space Cats" :)

“Super Long-tailed Space Cats” πŸ™‚

Also, seeing other people’s children do things that I see mine doing was encouraging; I was no longer alone.

The most significant thing I took away from my Supernanny marathon was to lower my expectations of my children’s behavior. It’s not that I’ll start to allow disrespect or bad manners or potty mouths or back talk, but I’ll keep in mind that children are children. They really do want the approval of their parents, they need consistent boundaries, and it’s hard for them to lack the power that they see coming with adulthood. It can be difficult for them to come to terms with their emotions, and they constantly need praise. I want my children to know that I love them. I want them to know that they’re perfect as they are. I want them to feel good about trying new things and that even when they’re not great at something I will always be there cheering them on.

For the longest time there has been a lack of consistency in my parenting. Partially because of the breakdown of our family, partially because it was difficult for me to transition with my children from their infancy to their current stages and stay true to attachment parenting. It was difficult in part because I began expecting too much perfection from my children.

In their Easter dresses and new wigs, courtesy of my mother!

In their Easter dresses and new wigs; courtesy of my mother!

I’ve learned so much since becoming a mother. Every day reveals new layers of life, intimacy, emotion, empathy, responsibility, and compassion. What lowering my expectations has really helped me with all around is to become more considerate toward myself and everyone else. Nobody is perfect, we’re all just trying, and it’s a lot easier to try when everyone is smiling, praising one another, and having fun.

 

10 Responses to “Lowering My Expectations”

  1. hang in there mama. was so happy to see an email that you had liked my post. your blog must have slipped through the cracks of the internet; it wasn’t showing up in my feed. ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ you can always email me. you're doing a great job.

    • Jet Says:

      πŸ™‚ Thank you! Oh yes, I’m living my dreams of teaching college comp (I LOVE my school’s First Year Writing Program for undergrads – Emerson College) vicariously through your blog πŸ˜‰

      • maybe someday you’ll do it πŸ™‚ what is your masters in?

      • Jet Says:

        I may! But I think if you see me at the 4C’s it’d be behind a table, handing out promotional material for our author’s new book or our season’s catalog or something, lol. My master’s is in Publishing and Writing. I love love love book publishing ❀ I wouldn't mind a good conversation with Peter Elbow and David Bartholomae though!

      • ahhhh! 4C’s!! i’m hoping to present next year. πŸ™‚ i was at last year’s, but not this years. and i would LOVE to talk to peter elbow sometime. so cool that you know who these people are!!! i wish i knew more about the publishing/book side of the field.

      • Jet Says:

        A presenter?! Wow! I really hope you get to be one! That would be awesome!!! Good for you πŸ™‚ I’ve never actually attended, but the people at the Press I interned for always raved about it and I look forward to going someday.

        You’ll just have to come out to visit me in MA and make a lunch date with Elbow πŸ˜‰ I’ve only scratched the surface of rhet/comp really, but I do enjoy what I’ve learned.

        Maybe I’ll have the honor of publishing your work someday πŸ™‚ When I’m no longer so overwhelmed I’d love to answer any questions you might have about publishing! I really see myself working for an academic publisher above other options.

  2. This post was a joy to read. Happy that you’re feeling better and are enjoying your children. Tony Robbins showed me that I have the power to make up ‘my own’ rules for my life. PEACE-

    • Jet Says:

      I’m trying to find a way to keep that joy consistently πŸ˜‰ I’ve never read any of Tony Robbins’ material, but I’ll put him on my self-help reading list πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  3. rb Says:

    best entry ever!! i need to reread it constantly.


Leave a Reply

