Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Back to Basically Alright March 25, 2013

Nohra is over 11lbs at four weeks old! That's a gain of 4lbs+ since birth :)

Nohra is over 11lbs at four weeks old! That’s a gain of 4lbs+ since birth πŸ™‚

Today is my first day of feeling good again.

I was able to use various natural remedies (warm, moist heat and massaging, increasing my Vitamin C and taking Echinacea, increasing my fluid intake and resting) to beat mastitis without antibiotics. Yay! It also helped that Nohra is going through a growth spurt and was begging to nurse almost constantly these past few days.

I was in so much pain at times, but several things helped me to push through. One was knowing that I couldn’t afford to get any worse as there wasn’t anyone to care for my daughters. Another was that if I had to take antibiotics and transfer them to Nohra by nursing her I’d feel incredibly guilty. Another was that no one was here to comfort me regardless of how much I complained so it was better to stay tough (very similar to birthing). I’m happy to have won this battle. Thank you all so much for your kindness and advice!

Terra and Amara modeling their new sunglasses and outfits courtesy of my sister :)

Terra and Amara modeling their new sunglasses and outfits courtesy of my sister πŸ™‚

Today was spent cleaning, trying to get back on track from several days of letting the girls go off their schedule and wreck the condo. It was bad. It still isn’t perfect, but today alone I got everyone bathed, the gerbil cage cleaned, the cloth diapers and the dishes washed, the bathroom cleaned, a load of laundry folded and put away, and a draft of my Master’s Project Prospectus completed.

The plan was to stop and celebrate every small victory along the way. Every cleaned body, room, dish, diaper and whatnot. But I was too busy scurrying to clean as quickly as I could each time I was able to put Nohra down to stop and enjoy each accomplishment. I can certainly say that being a single mother of three young children has made me much more efficient. I have no time to do anything slowly anymore.

There’s still a lot of cleaning to be done. My summer semester proposals need to be finished this week, there are bills to pay and appointments to make it to and Terra’s fourth birthday on Saturday. I cannot wrap my head around it all. When I dreamed of my adult life I never saw it being like this. I thought that I’d have babies, yes, but everything else was inconceivable. I do enjoy having children, I’m just eager to reach the period of our lives when I can share so much more with them.

There’s still so much I want out of life, but days like today I am certain that we’re going to be alright.

 

6 Responses to “Back to Basically Alright”

  1. HER HAIR IS AMAZING!!!! Did your other girls have that awesome hair when they came!? I hope our boy has hair! πŸ™‚ If he ever freaking comes out of me!

    • Jet Says:

      Lol, thank you! Yes, they all came out with full heads of dark silky strands. It’s beginning to show different shades of brown and it curls in layers when it’s wet πŸ˜‰ I’m excited to see how her curls will develop! Good luck with your birth (when he decides it’s time) and I hope he has hair too (it’s so fun to brush baby hair)!

  2. Oh my! It is amazing home much your daughters look like mine when they were that age. My daughters are 28 and 31 now. I remember the days that you speak of in your posts. Plus, I was dealing with diagnosed mental health issues at that time. I used to think I would never see the ‘light’ again. Enjoy your children — on purpose. Don’t worry about the housework so much. You and your children are awesome. “It’s always darkest before the dawn.”

    • Jet Says:

      You’ve got curly girls too?! πŸ™‚ Thank you! Congratulations on making it through πŸ™‚ You’re right; things are bound to get better, and I don’t want to look back and only remember that the house fared well, lol.

      • Yep! And long. My biggest fear was that a neighbor might call CPS because of how my youngest would scream sometimes when I was just trying to get a comb through it. Have a wonderful weekend!!!!

      • Jet Says:

        Hahaha! I needed that laugh πŸ™‚ I feared the same thing before I started using the Deva Curl anti-combing method (been doing it for a month or so now). Good to know I’m not the only mother who loathes combing curls! Thank you for the pleasant weekend wishes; same to you!


Leave a Reply

