Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

One of those days January 28, 2013

Everything went right for a change.

The girls and I went to pick up my loan check from my school, then made our way to the bank in the bitter Boston cold to deposit it. We’d taken the commuter rail to get to the city from our town, then walked a total of ten blocks and took two T’s (subways) before we made it to the Boston Children’s Museum.

I could’ve just shuttled them to my school and back, but for all the effort (and expense) it takes traveling to Boston with two small children I figured we may as well make a day of it at one of their favorite places. We’ve been to the Boston Children’s Museum countless times since moving to Massachusetts, but the girls always enjoy themselves there.

We’d decided against the Museum of Science this time because we chose it the last few times and it’s not as easy for me to sit down while the girls explore there. The children’s museum was perfect for such a cold day, energetic children, and a mother waddling around two weeks away from having a baby. I wish we could’ve stayed even longer than we did, but we had to save some energy for the trip home. I’m happy to report there were no tears, feuds, or long periods of fussing. After arriving home we played our routine games of Uno and the girls feel asleep easily.

Two or three weeks from now everything will be different for my family, what with the new baby coming soon. But this was one of those days were everything just falls into place. I’ll take it.

 

 

The perfect blend of discovery and exercise

IMAG0004_BURST002

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

They chased one another up and around this structure for ten minutes!

IMAG0008_BURST002 IMAG0009_BURST005 IMAG0011_BURST004 IMAG0015_BURST001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

The girls love the Peep’s World Exhibit and spent a lot of time playing in the water.

IMAG0040 IMAG0044_BURST002 IMAG0045_BURST001

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

Even though they were surrounded by huge exhibits and amazing things they spent about twenty minutes playing with these semi-soft animals.

IMAG0035_BURST003

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

I bought them these awesome new headphones for only $5 at TJ Maxx so that they could listen to music on my phone together. The ear pieces have a super soft center, but they’re not buds, and the band adjusts to fit each ear perfectly. This is the look I got when I tried to take a picture of them enjoying the music (Disney’s Tangled Soundtrack). I didn’t know that I couldn’t take pictures and have them hear the music at the same time. Oops!

IMAG0028_BURST002_COVER

 

 

.

 

 

 

The Museum has a new exhibit sponsored by the Blue Man Group. It’s pretty awesome. It deals with sound and sound waves and teaches children how they can distort sounds and use noises creatively. The girls are hardcore Blue Man Group fans now and request YouTube videos of them constantly.

IMAG0057_BURST004 IMAG0049_BURST001 IMAG0061_BURST001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“I wish we lived across the street from the Children’s Museum,” Amara told me as we were leaving. So do I.

 

2 Responses to “One of those days”


Leave a Reply

