Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

The Home(birth)stretch January 25, 2013

IMAG0277I am still doing daily prep for baby, but I’d say the insanity of nesting hit its peak a week or so ago. I finally got the bookcase disassembled and made a run to our storage unit. I’ve got her crib set up, all besides the mobile. I’ve got her dresser cleaned out, but I’ve yet to fill it with her clothes. I’ve got the cloth diaper supply ready to be washed and sorted. I’ve managed to move all of the baby gear from the cellar to the living room, but I’ve yet to assemble anything.

There are still things that need to be done. Washing all of the covers to her various seats, washing my boppy pillow and her tummy-time mat, washing the stroller and her shopping cart thingy. Maybe I am still nesting…but I’m not feeling as incapable of balancing it all lately. I’ve reached a peace with this pregnancy. Now that I’m due in just over two weeks, it’s all a little bit easier to handle.

Not that the pulled groin muscle, pain in my hips, pressure in my pelvis, and continuous sleep shortage are easy to deal with, I just don’t want to complain about them anymore. Maybe I’m trying to build character. I’ll need it when I’m in labor.

It’s nearly impossible not to think about how the birth will be. I’m trying to keep the thoughts on how I’ll handle the actual labor and delivery, instead of contemplating how it’s going to feel with him not there beside me. There are good reasons why he should not be at the birth, but that doesn’t make me feel any better.

This has been so difficult. I’m full-term pregnant and I may be extremely hormonal, but being in my situation would be challenging either way. I cannot help but to look back and think about how much different life was before the conception of this baby.

Nine months ago I couldn’t have ever conceived of there being a time in the future where I’d go over six months without speaking to my husband. Nine months ago I couldn’t have imagined being pregnant, single, still in graduate school, victim to a felony, seeking a divorce. No…those just weren’t the thoughts I was thinking.Β DSC07109

So baby is coming soon, and the rush of birthing and the anxiety of transition and the newness of change makes me want to reach out for something old and comfortable and reliable, like being his Babydoll. I want to hear him call me by my pet-name again. I want to hug him while he’s shirtless and breathe in the scent of his skin. I want to run my fingers through his hair. I want him to validate me. I want him to possess me.

I do not really. But the familiarity of my marriage is my latest craving. I want to call him. I want to hear his voice. I want to hear him say that he still loves me. I want to know where he is and how he’s doing and whether or not he still thinks I’m pretty. I want to find out if he’s seeing somebody.

But he is not mine any longer, and I should not contact him. I know better than to think that just because he tells me sweet nothings something will change. I’d be a fool to have built up my strength for nine months and then give it all away in one conversation. I must remain strong, and alone.

It does get harder though, knowing that our third daughter will arrive any day now. I wonder if she’ll ever know her father. I wonder if he’ll even care about her at all. I wonder if he thinks this entire situation (court cases, failed marriage, fatherless children, etc) is my fault.

But I should spend my time assembling the swing and washing everything. I should not brood over what he might say were I to call him. I need to continue to build my strength, not slip back and allow myself to be weakened once again by his words, his eyes, his demeanor. This time should be about my daughters, my household, my impending homebirth. It’s just so hard to build a nest when someone significant has been banished from it.

 

15 Responses to “The Home(birth)stretch”

  1. maria5125 Says:

    You can do this!! You are a strong women and you will soon have 3 beautiful daughters that will give you unconditional love for the rest of your life.

  2. You can do this. You’ve already done what you thought was impossible.

  3. Combat Babe Says:

    You got this, girl! You are a phenomenal woman.

  4. Your daughters are blessed to have you for a mama ~ you may not even know where it’s coming from yet, but you will have the support you need. ps I Love your hair ~ it looks so beautiful
    ❀

  5. Teeny Bikini Says:

    I admire your bravery. I really am in awe of your strength.

  6. Mamamammary Says:

    Keep your strength. You are doing great, no matter what it feels like in the difficult moments. Goethe said something like “avoid dissipating your power, strive always to consolidate it,” and you are doing very well at that. You do so much and have accomplished amazing things.

  7. rohan7things Says:

    That is so fantastic that you are doing a home birth πŸ™‚ Myself and my two brothers were home births, apparently it has all sorts of benefits for mother and child πŸ™‚

    Good luck, keep going, you and your big belly look beautiful in the pic πŸ™‚

    Rohan.

    • Jet Says:

      You’re such a sweetheart, Rohan πŸ™‚ Thank you! Yes, Home birth is wonderful and I am very excited to do it again. Your mom rocks for having you three at home; home births have a bad reputation in our over-medicalized society, but it is definitely the best option for me and my babies πŸ™‚

      • rohan7things Says:

        Yes indeed, I’m certainly glad to see there are still people doing it the more natural way despite the immense pressures not to!

        Go you πŸ™‚

        Rohan.


Leave a Reply

