Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

28 down, 12 to go December 14, 2012

I cannot really believe it, at this point I am still in shock.

degreeMy last final for the semester was due at 8pm and I got it in at 7:59. Complete! 28 credits of my graduate school coursework down, and only 12 more credits to go before I have my Master’s!

Despite all of the negativity in my life at the moment and all that it took just to get here, to stay here…I am so close. I know I’m going to make it.

Yes, next semester I’ll have a newborn and two other children. I’ll have even less money, no job, and no one helping me, but I will still take a class. Such is life when you’re living off of loan money. During the summer I’ll take two more courses, and then I will finally have the degree of my dreams!

I am so excited that my three daughters will get to see me walk the stage at my graduation. I know they won’t quite understand the significance of graduating, nor will they be able to contemplate the complexity of my journey, but one day they will be extremely proud of me, and on my graduation day I’m certain that they’ll cheer, “Go Mama!” like always. I love their encouragement. I couldn’t push through this without them.

Amara Sleeping - Less than one week old

Amara sleeping – Less than one week old

I made it through the semester, and not by the skin of my teeth. I’m quite sure that I will receive an A in both classes, I successfully handed over my student organization presidency without letting the organization fall apart, and I bonded with several classmates.

I functioned on three hours of sleep for more than 75% of it all, somehow. That was very unhealthy of me, but I survived it, and now I will take the next few days to do absolutely nothing (except light household chores, and things that really interest me). I will try to take a short break from the overwhelming state of my life and just recuperate.

In eight short weeks I will be having my third baby, and plenty needs to take place before she arrives, but for these next few nights I want to revel in my glory. I did something amazing. I didn’t let myself quit. I deserve a bit of sleep for it.

 

3 Responses to “28 down, 12 to go”

  1. i am so proud of you for all of your accomplishments. now, please indulge in some much needed rest. you more than deserve it.

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I’ve been trying, but these nightmares won’t go away 😦 I’m seeing a new therapist. She also suggested PTSD. I cannot believe how difficult feeling safe can be, even with him far away. Sigh. I will keep trying to sleep (peacefully). I need it. And I may only have several weeks left before I’m up every night with Baby 😉

      • yes, it really does sound like ptsd. i’m really glad you are in therapy. it does help. i have come a long way thanks to the work i have done in therapy. do you meditate at all? there are lots of guided meditations and meditation music on youtube. that might help you to wind down and at least relax some what. my thoughts and prayers are with you. take care of yourself. ❤


Leave a Reply

