Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

The Good Things November 21, 2012

I’ve only been a single mother since late May 2012, but nearly every mother who has gone through a similar situation shares my sentiments:

We were single parenting long before we were actually single.

There are some things that have actually changed though. I may have had little time to myself before leaving him, but at least the children didn’t have to come with me to pap smear appointments. I no longer hold out the hope (though it usually wound up in disappointment and added resentment) that someone will help carry the load. I no longer have anyone to vent to about the children’s behavior on a rough day or the hardships of pregnancy. There is no soft skin to bury my face into, no strong arms to wrap around my waist and hold me tightly until I’m feeling okay.

There isn’t any abuse, but there aren’t any of the good things he brought to our household either. I miss the good things tremendously.

I miss the way he made me laugh. I miss our talks about the country, society, history. I miss him teaching me things. I miss his cooking. I miss his hair. I miss the smell of his skin, and the feel of his large hands. I miss the feeling of being protected from everybody; he was the only one who could truly hurt me. I miss the dream of loving each other eternally. I miss knowing that I had somebody.

I miss saying, “my husband,” in conversations. Now I don’t know what to call him. We are still married, but…

I miss his ears. He always thought they were too big, but his head was big and his ears fit it perfectly. I miss the way that he said my name. I miss watching him play video games that were too complicating for me to see how they could possibly be entertaining.

There were so many good things.

Tomorrow marks six months since The Big Incident, but somehow I’m supposed to smile and host a celebration.

Before The Big Incident, there was energy surrounding his presence. Whether he was raising hell or being peaceful, he was there. Whether he was gainfully employed or gleefully indulging in one of his vices, he was there. Whether he was contributing to my attachment parenting efforts or being a dictator, he was there. Now he is gone, and though there are countless ways things have gotten better, the reality of being alone, truly alone, makes getting things done just a bit harder than ever.

 

5 Responses to “The Good Things”

  1. Combat Babe Says:

    I don’t want to take away from you missing the good. I want to say, yes, it is harder now, but you’ll make your girls better for it. I grew up with an abusive dad, to my mom, and when we finally left the fear I lived with as a child slowly dissipated.

    • Jet Says:

      I do think we’re all better off now, no matter how much harder things can be. It’s difficult being lonely though. I’d been with him since just a few months after I turned 19, and now I’m 27. It’s just so different; change is hard for me, even when it’s with good reason.

      I am happy to hear that your mother eventually broke free from your abusive father. It’s so hard to leave, but you’re right, it’s liberating. One day my daughters will understand why I left, and hopefully not resent me for it.

  2. rohan7things Says:

    You’ve got to trust that the process of life will bring new and positive people your way. You’ve also got to trust that you will heal in time and that these feelings will die down to less disruptive levels as the months roll on. It’s important in the early months to stay focused on why things had to end. There will be plenty of time to reminisce on the good times when the worst is over.

    All I can say is it does get better, take it a day, week and month at a time. You’ll feel all those nice things again when you are ready šŸ™‚

    Rohan.

    • Jet Says:

      I think that’s a good plan. Stay focused on why things had to end.

      Maybe it does/will get better. Not so sure that I trust good things will happen, but it’s a nice thought.

      Thank you, Rohan.


Leave a Reply

