Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Generosity November 14, 2012

I joined a new support group a few weeks ago; it’s so comforting to know that other women understand.

I always find it a little bittersweet to know that someone can truly empathize with my struggles. I wouldn’t wish this pain, this emptiness, this state of destitution, these hardships on anybody; yet there are so many women who can relate to my position, who have previously or are currently fighting a very similar battle, who keep wishing for their abusers to drop out of the game.

Tonight, without having anticipated it, I was given a gift. It was the most generous thing to receive a tub filled with items for my baby girl. I almost couldn’t accept it; I didn’t want to take it from some other mother who might need it more, but my counselors gently insisted. I also felt a bit reluctant because there were disposable diapers in the bundle and I use cloth, but I figured it might come in handy to have disposables at some point. My last twinge of guilt was over the fact that baby may not need anything; she has two older sisters and I kept almost all of their clothing. It will be nice though, to allow baby just a few new things to call her own.

Upon arriving home from group my daughters helped me to open the package; it was like having a small baby shower, just us three. I couldn’t believe the amount of clothing and supplies and utterly adorable things inside!

  • 1 adorable blanket with a bunny on it
  • 4 bibs
  • A 50 pack of newborn diapers (8-14lbs)
  • 1 pair of crocheted mittens
  • 6 sleepers
  • 4 complete outfits
  • 2 dresses
  • 1 blue jean jacket
  • 2 pairs of pants
  • 5 onesies
  • 1 packet of wipes
  • 3 hats
  • 1 set of Johnson & Johnson baby supplies (baby powder, shampoo, lotion, baby wash, diaper cream)
  • 5 pairs of socks
  • 1 embroidered burp cloth
  • A Peter Rabbit themed Baby Book (something I’m committed to filling out for Baby#3)

I will most definitely express my appreciation to my counselors, but I am also hoping that someday I will be in the position to make another woman’s baby prep a little easier. I would love to give back in that way, to prepare a stranger’s baby shower basket, and to enhance her life from the shadows of anonymity. There are so many women out there in need.

I am so very grateful for this unexpected generosity.

 

4 Responses to “Generosity”

  1. It’s so easy to forget there are still so many good people in this world who take the time to think about you and pray for you by name! How sweet of them to send you those things!! And how fun is it to open big boxes full of cute baby stuff!??

  2. Combat Babe Says:

    The best thank you you can give to a giver is accepting their gift to you. You are one who naturally wants to help others and put yourself on the back burner. I know because I am that way, too. It’s easy for us to bend over backwards for people in need. It’s a challenge for us to accept a helping hand, because like you state in your post, there are others who need it. I am glad you accepted this gift because it is a step forward in realizing you deserve to be helped and cared for, too.

    • Jet Says:

      You’re spot on; I do have a really difficult time accepting assistance. I’ve tried to be humble throughout this transition and ask for help when I need it, but it is so hard to not be the one constantly giving. I DO need help, and if people are willing to care for me I shouldn’t turn it away. I am very happy to have accepted the gift too šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

