Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Frankenstorm Frenzy October 29, 2012

I don’t know how bad things will be when Hurricane Sandy makes it to New England. From the multitude of weather forecasts, news updates , and tweets I’ve read regarding this “Frankenstorm”, I should at least be prepared.

http://www.weather.com/

This time last year we suffered a crazy snow storm; we went without power for five days. It wasn’t the longest time in my life that I’d been without power, but having recently moved to New England I was totally unprepared. Five tea lights, one dying flashlight, one half-charged cell phone, very little bottled water, undone chores, an old pack of matches and one lighter. It was bad.

If the girls and I get stuck inside this time we are going to be fine! We visited the library  on Saturday morning for a stockpile of Skippyjon Jones books, a couple of Playaway Views with children’s stories on them, and a few audiobooks for me. We went shopping Saturday night for flashlights, batteries, candles, lighters, water, and a car phone charger. Today I ran a load of dishes, washed and dried three loads of laundry, filled up the gas tank, and went shopping  for fruit and non-perishables.

The girls had a great time doing our Hurricane Prep Shopping. We got to talk about why we were purchasing each item and how we would handle the storm. They personalized their flashlights with decorative tape and stickers then stored them in easily accessible places. They helped me put new batteries in every flashlight, lantern, push-on light, CD player, radio, camera, and toy. They assisted me with gathering things for their Bug-Out bags (though I doubt we’ll need them, I wouldn’t want to be packing them when the water is already knee deep). They also insisted that we bake cookies, boil eggs, and pop popcorn this morning, just in case.

They’ve followed the forecasts excitedly awaiting Sandy and we wrapped up our prep by watching the videos in Sesame Street’s Hurricane Kit. I am glad that they feel confident we’ve made good choices with our preparations, and content with their level of anxiety. I guess now all there is to do is wait and see. We’ll be waiting, and we’ll be ready.

 

2 Responses to “Frankenstorm Frenzy”

  1. maria5125 Says:

    I’m glad your better prepared this time! The wind is really starting to pick up now here. But I’m ready now the waiting game is on!!! Stay safe!


Leave a Reply

