Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Reign, Reign, Go Away September 26, 2012

My last event as the President of the Graduate Students for Publishing Graduate Student Organization (GSP GSO) at Emerson College was held today. I’d arranged for the students to tour a printing facility 45 minutes outside of Boston. The tour was at a company called Quad/Graphics, the second largest printing company in the world, topped only by R.R. Donnelley.  Despite my lack of sleep and running this organization single-handedly, I’d have to say that the event was carried out successfully.

  • The charter bus showed up on time
  •  The trip attendees all had their ID’s and liability forms
  • We did not get stuck in traffic either way
  • The printing facility managers were amazingly cordial and informative
  • We were treated to coffee, danishes, grapes, and adorable palm-sized bottles of water
  • We got ear plugs and goggles and in-depth safety training before going out onto the floor
  • We got to see the entire book manufacturing process (from the Prepress department to proofing signatures to binding to foil stamping to shipping the product)
  • The plant is so large that we got a really good overview of an array of machines
  • After we returned to campus, the room I’d reserved for our luncheon was set up properly
  • Catering arrived on time and the order was perfect
  • There was enough food for everybody
  • I didn’t miss my train coming back home (even though I had to leave the luncheon early to make it in time)
  • From the sounds of it, everyone had a good time.

It will be a relief once I am no longer President as my personal life needs to take precedence, but it will be a loss as well. I worked diligently throughout the first semester of my graduate school career to bring the organization out of its defunct state, to revive the dormant group to what it has become today. The GSO held panels with publishing professionals, and hosted socials, helped to bridge the gap between MFA students and MA students in the Writing, Literature, and Publishing Department, and began to branch out into the Boston community for the greater publishing good.

The learning experience has been incomparable. I have enjoyed the duties, learned from the difficulties, and shocked even myself with my unwavering dedication to the organization. I am, however, very happy to put the overwhelming responsibilities of GSP GSO President behind me. I need to focus on my daughters, and Baby #3, and getting more sleep, and exercising, and finishing my Master’s degree, and applying for my PhD, and moving in the summer of 2013, and………………………………………

 

Leave a Reply

