Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Losing the Baby Weight x 3 August 22, 2012

I am determined to exercise throughout this pregnancy, and to get back in shape after birthing Baby # 3. I was determined to stay in shape during my first two pregnancies as well, but those plans sort of fell through. I was busy, working, depressed, and a little too reliant on how my years of athleticism remained obvious on my 5’4” frame.

In 2006 before getting pregnant with my first daughter.

Pregnancy # 1 my starting weight was 110lbs. I was in great shape and walked a few miles every day. I took a water aerobics class and allowed my husband to dictate what I ate (which was a lot). I ended the pregnancy at 155lbs.

In 2007 a few weeks after giving birth to Amara

Pregnancy # 2 my starting weight was 120lbs. The only exercise I got was when I’d take my daughter out for walks and running back and forth at work all night long. By the end of Pregnancy # 2 I was again, 155lbs.

In 2010 a year and a half after having Terra

Pregnancy # 3, I am currently 16 weeks, my starting weight was 130lbs. I am eating healthier than I have ever eaten in my entire life, and since the second trimester began I am no longer constantly doubled over with nausea and fatigue. I know that simply thinking about exercising isn’t going to get me going, I rely on routine, and this week I’ve begun one.

I bought a new-to-me treadmill from someone through Craigslist last week, and I’ve been walking for one hour each morning before the girls wake up. I love it! I used to do track and field, play soccer, be a cheerleader, and have rock hard abs, but I hadn’t sweat from doing cardio in so long that I’d forgotten how good it felt. I’m not going crazy with exercise, but I hope to keep on walking every day. I don’t want exercise to come as a shock to my body after Baby # 3.

It’s only my first week, but I long for the day when I look down and don’t see my thighs jiggling. They never used to jiggle. They used to be defined. I actually liked my thighs at one point in time because of how strong they looked when I would run. My arms as well; I got teased because of how muscular they were when I was younger, and now I know what Oprah meant by “waving flags” with one’s arm fat. It’s not about being skinny, it is about being fit. I feel most confident when I am physically capable.

With 24 more weeks of pregnancy ahead of me, I don’t plan on entering any triathlons soon. For now I’ll stick to walking and prenatal yoga, stretching and incorporating weights into my treadmill time, but nothing extreme. I won’t even be running until I’m several months postpartum. This time I’m thinking realistically. It has taken me nearly six years to put this weight on, and I’ll be in my seventh year before I can begin to work at taking it off. I figure that by the time I’m 30 I will be in the best shape of my adult life (that’s a little over three years from now). I’m setting my goals high, but I know that I’ll reach them, one inclined step at a time.

 

4 Responses to “Losing the Baby Weight x 3”

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    Great plan. It’s never a good idea to try to lose weight with a new babe–especially if you’re breastfeeding.

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! I agree, but I also think that’s a part of my problem. I nursed Amara until she was 17 months old, and I got pregnant with Terra when Amara was 12 months old, so I hadn’t begun to try losing weight yet. I nursed Terra until she was 30 months old, and would’ve gone longer had I not been briefly separated from her to look for grad school housing, but then I got swamped with school and life and hadn’t found the time to try losing weight before I got pregnant with # 3. Sheesh!

      • Love your blog. I’d love to have children sometime in the next few years but my concern is the weight gain. I am interested in hearing your journey to maybe get some hints on how to cope and stay active throughout.

      • Jet Says:

        Thank you! I’d start by taking all of the time pre-baby to get in the best shape of your life…it’s so much easier to stick with a routine than to start one when you’re nauseous and fatigue and “supposed to be gaining weight”. Plus, abdominal strength really comes in handy when you’re pushing out a baby! Good luck with your goals 🙂


Leave a Reply

