Sustainably Single Parenting

Making the most of life's journey alongside my three!!!

Great Expectations May 31, 2013

Some terribly unrealistic force of optimism cursed me during my pregnancy. This mystical force convinced me that I’d be capable of achieving everything I set my mind to accomplishing. I was so certain of this power being mine that it confuses me every time I’m forced to accept reality. My reality these days is quite bleak.

I wake up early to get going before my girls get out of bed.

I have energy and big plans for getting through my to-do list.

But… the baby wakes up as I’m doing my morning chores and I spend 30 minutes or more nursing her back to sleep.

Then, just as I’m leaving the baby, my middle daughter wakes up with the energy of five elephants trapped¬† in a room full of mice, and wakes the baby.

I calm the baby, play with my preschooler, and go about doing my morning chores with “help” from my second born.

My oldest daughter wakes up, typically in a bad mood with a bad attitude, and gets things moving downhill at an accelerated rate.

They eat breakfast, and I keep cleaning, and somehow through it all I still believe I’m going to get a lot done.

Then, before I’ve had the chance to catch a breath, it’s time for lunch.

I create, serve, and clean up lunch, and then I try to get some homework done, but alas…my big girls need rest and cannot play without fighting.

They also refuse to rest.

This makes my outlook on the rest of our day take a nosedive.

Two hours later, after many failed attempts to get them to do anything together without fighting, I realize that my attempts have been in vain because all they want to do is play with me.

I play. I enjoy their company. I play for as long as I can without having to leave to feed the baby or work on something.

But it is already nearing dinner time, and I am running out of energy fast.

I yawn through dinner. I clean their plates.

We do bedtime business and I promise myself I’ll stay up after they’re in bed to get my work done.

I am too tired throughout the day to stay up late to finish things.

I realize that this is my reality.

I am too tired to freak out, but if I weren’t I’d be screaming, “How the hell am I going to pass two graduate courses on top of all this?!”

 

4 Responses to “Great Expectations”

  1. Still Scared( but getting angry) Says:

    Oh dear sister, it is so hard and so much!! I can tell you to lower your expectations, that fluffy videos full of nothingness will be fine to plunk your kids in front of for a while, and one can live on sandwiches, to use paper plates…but you can figure out what works for you! What you can let slide and what is important ( like people kept trying to tell me to get rid of my animals, not realizing how critical they were to mine and my kids well being) . I can say that you can change , you will make it. Praying!!

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! You’re right. I beat myself up over everything; I “fail” too much. Some days are better than others, but it’s hard for me to not feel like I’ve achieved my personal parenting best on a daily basis. Ugh! I know that it’s important for me to eat and sleep and feel good too though, I just have to start prioritizing my health and my homework. I’ll have more time for housework once I graduate. I did buy some heavy duty napkins and some plastic spoons and paper plates yesterday ;)

  2. CombatBabe Says:

    You’ll get through it, Jet. I have a lot of faith in you. You are amazing and you will accomplish what you set out to do. xo

    • Jet Says:

      Thank you! That’s very encouraging :) I will get through this. I just have to keep telling myself that it’s possible. I’ve come this far…I can make it. Or…I’ll just guilt myself into achieving by knowing how many people I’ll let down if I don’t. Lol. Just kidding ;)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers